Weekly Photo Challenge: Flowers

Photo #1 - A sunflower in HDRI. Taken using a Nikon D300, Nikkor 50mm f/1.2 AI-S, Kenko extension tubes.

Here are my Weekly Photo Challenge contributions for this week, “Flowers”.

Photo #2 - A flower at work. Taken using a Nikon CP5700.

Photo #3 - An orchid in my living room. Taken using a Nikon CP5700

Photo #4 - A flower in my neighbour's garden. Taken using a Nikon CP5700. Doesn't the central part of the flower look a little like thos banana-flavoured candies you used to get on Hallowe'en?

Photo #5 - Another orchid in my livingroom. Taken using a Nikon D300, Nikkor 50mm f/1.2 AI-S, Kenko extension tubes.

Photo #6 - An HDRI of a flower in an arrangement done by a florist. Taken using a Nikon D300, Nikkor 50mm f/1.2 AI-S, Kenko extension tubes.

Photo #7 - Peach blossoms on a rainy day. Taken from inside my livingroom and out the back door (naturally!) using a Nikon D300 and a Reflex-Nikkor 500mm f/8.

Photo #8 - What are flowers without bees? A passion flower in my yard. Taken using a Nikon CP5700.

Photo #9 - An HDRI poppy in my garden. Taken using a Nikon D300, Nikkor 50mm f/1.2 AI-S.

Hope you enjoyed my gallery of flowers.

See you next week!

About HoaiPhai

I'm up late digging up the dirt. View all posts by HoaiPhai

18 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Flowers

  • theplaceswevebeen

    Nice shots! I liked photo #8 the best. Great detail!

    • HoaiPhai

      Photo #8 is one of my all-time favourite photos (of the ones I’ve taken). I used a Nikon CoolPix 5700,, rated a “prosumer” at the time I bought it. It has a fixed lens that is fabulous! This shot was done without any macro accessory! I got a lot of use out of that camera and during that period my schedule allowed me a lot of time to wander around and indulge my hobby.

  • The Hook

    I like your answer to the challenge!

  • betharr

    flower photos are something amazing. Perfect macros!
    I do not choose one. this could decrease the others.
    B.R..A.V……O.

    • HoaiPhai

      I find the exacting nature of macro photography both challenging and satisfying. It’s not as dangerous as street photography, but I could have been stung by the bee in photo #8!

  • Mike Lilly

    Nice work! I find flowers to be a difficult subject, but you’ve done quite well with this batch. Each is well composed and lit. I’ll got with Photo #7 as my favorite of the bunch.

    • HoaiPhai

      Thanks! I know little about flowers but appreciate their beauty. all were lit by ambiant light, including #1, #2, #3, #5, and #6 which were all indoors right where my wife put them. I’m a photographer of opportunity — I don’t do nearly as well engineering lighting (or other aspects of the shot except possibly post-processing) and like to capture subjects as they are.

      Photo #7 was done using a mirror telephoto with a focal length of 500mm on my cropped-format D300, so the 35mm equivalent would be 750mm. My Reflex-Nikkor has given me many wonderful images and the donut bokeh has it’s place and can contribute to an image. I have been known to use the 500mm with a 2x tele-extender but it degrades image quality a lot… the subject has to be just right for it to work out well. I’d love to get my hands on the 1,000mm!

  • Redneckprincess

    The bee shot is amazing!!! Great pics 🙂

    • HoaiPhai

      The bee shot was done with a non-pro camera with really a really slow autofocus. But the thing is that passion flower nectar seems to make the bees “drunk” so if they’ve already visited a couple of flowers before you try to take their picture, they’re very lethargic and not too nervous!

  • elmediat

    Excellent compositions ! Photo 1 has qualities that evoke the alternative/antique photographic processes . Love the textures in 2-6.

    • HoaiPhai

      Thanks! Photo #1 and #6 were both made from a series of bracketed shots and processed using different algorithms in the open-source Luminance HDR software (or its predecessor Qtpfsgui). This program can yield wonderful results but the full-res version is often very different from the low-res first attempt so, for example, Photo #6 took a few hours of hit-and-miss to get the subtle texture enhancement of the one petal I had envisioned. It looks much better printed on metalic paper.

  • Beth Arr

    hp
    thx for explanation. im learning so much.

  • My no-longer-non-award-winning blog » Random Says...

    […] to me thanks to HoaiPhai, who has his own blog. (If you go check it out, you’ll find some cool photography and thoughtful posts. Plus, he spells ‘checks’ as […]

Speak up and be heard!

