Weekly Photo Challenge: Up

Through the Willow

Clouds, Home, and Pine

Fresh Paint

Confused Groundhog

Hope you enjoyed my gallery of “up” photos.

See you next week!

About HoaiPhai

I'm up late digging up the dirt. View all posts by HoaiPhai

25 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Up

  • grightnow

    Lovely. You have interpreted “UP’ ebverything above your head. Very good shots! Sharing mine http://grightnow.wordpress.com/2011/08/27/weekly-photo-challenge-up/
    Cheers.

    • HoaiPhai

      It’s interesting how we interpreted the theme differently… your photos were from “up”. I guess there were some people that might have thought it to mean “exuberant”!

  • betharr

    good idea, photographer!
    i loved the first one.
    and I’ll return to read the text 🙂

    • HoaiPhai

      Thanks! The day I took the first one was quite productive photographically. The first picture I took just walking along and stopped for an instant, made an adjustment or two, snapped the picture, and kept walking along. It can be “dangerous” looking upwards towards where birds myy be sitting!

  • :Punchie

    Really dig that 1st one.

    • HoaiPhai

      Yeah, me too. When I found out about the current topic, I thought of that one immediately and chose it for the “grabber shot” at the top of the page to draw people in to see the others.

  • Mike Lilly

    I can definitely feel the Up, nice work! The first one gave me a touch of vertigo, and I’m also intrigued by the pink room.

    • HoaiPhai

      Thanks! The pink room is my “porcelain library” (my bathroom) in which I had just finished installing the lights after having painted it a few days earlier. I used an HDRI and bracketing technique to bring out the texture in the surfaces… I’m not much of a painter and I’m even worse at plastering so I didn’t even attempt the latter.

  • Martina

    I’m in awe! And you know this happens every time I look at the amazing pictures you take, look at that first picture, wow!
    Keep up the good work 🙂

  • frankdejol

    Great idea.
    The first photo is my favorite…..Excellent!

  • The Hook

    Groundhogs climb trees? Is this guy drunk?
    Great answer to the challenge!

    • HoaiPhai

      The strangest things happen in my backyard…aliens, tree-climbing groundhogs, Niagara Lawn Kitties (a.k.a. skunks) that come when you call them, etc. All of the photos on this page were true to my blog-wide attempt at taking photos that are within ten steps of my house. The top one of the tree was a bit farther away, it was taken near the shore of Lake Ontario behind a place called Happy Rolph’s… maybe you’ve heard of the place.

  • jennygoth

    just called by to say hello my fave pics the dark leafy tree can just imagine standing under it looking up xxjen

    • HoaiPhai

      The day I took the picture I was just walking under it and the visual just came together suddenly, like “bam!” I just had to stop and take a picture of it. I’ve been back under that tree since that day and it never looked quite the same since. Please come back and check out more of my pictures sometime!

  • Mary Royers

    I am absolutely in LOVE with the willow photo. Willows have been my favorite tree since I could remember, and the photo to me looks like I’m back in my childhood, staring up at the tall trees that look like they could reach the heavens. The long vine-like branches give us the illusion of some sort of blur, or intensity like we’re actually moving upward. Perfect for the theme:)

    • HoaiPhai

      Yeah, I love willows too. There was one in the backyards of both the houses I (consectutively) grew up in. One willow helped me convince my younger brothers to believe in Santa for an extra year. I’ll save that story for December!

  • Sheila Creighton

    very nice! lol… I took almost the exact same photo this past spring (posted May 5th)… great minds think alike.

  • Stepping My Way to Bliss

    Great minds think alike…my “Up” offering was very similar. I like this! Willow trees are one of my favorites…maybe “the” favorite of trees.

    • HoaiPhai

      Yes, there is a very similar feel about your “Up” picture. Willows are among my favourites, but there are others that fill moods that a willow cannot, like the pines. Can you imagine a Christmas willow in your living room? That being said, I am thinking about writing a Christmas post called “The Christmas Willow”. I’ll keep you, er, posted!

Speak up and be heard!

