Weekly Photo Challenge: Path

My sister-in-law peddling along the Welland Canal.

It’s been such a busy week I’m just glad to get this up before the topic for the next Photo Challenge is announced… hope you enjoy my gallery of “path” photos!

A rooftop running path as seen from the CN Tower.

An infrared view of the Parkway's footpath in Niagara-on-the-Lake.

One of the old Welland Canal tunnels.

The path along Ricardo Street in Niagara-on-the-Lake.

To some, a path is more than just a place to walk, it’s a way of life…

A Buddhist monk in Niagara Falls.

A statue of Buddha at The National Museum of Korea.

A statue of Buddha at The National Museum of Korea.

A statue of Buddha at The National Museum of Korea.

A statue of Buddha at The National Museum of Korea.

A statue of Buddha at The National Museum of Korea.

A statue of Buddha at a temple in downtown Seoul.

Please check back in a couple of days for my next Weekly Photo Challenge submission!

About HoaiPhai

I'm up late digging up the dirt. View all posts by HoaiPhai

24 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Path

  • Shoshi

    Great photographs

  • Hippie Cahier

    These are terrific! I’ve tried tracking this down before to no avail: where are the challenge topics posted?

  • ::Ruby::

    Nice shots! I love the photo of your sister-in-law! 🙂

    • HoaiPhai

      Thank you! the sky was beautiful that evening and she was so happy to be getting good at riding a bicycle, I just had to take a picture so she could remember the time she visited Canada.

  • Mike Lilly

    I love that old tunnel, what an interesting and forboding looking place. I also especially like the photograph of your sister-in-law on a bike, the sense of movement is terrific. Best of luck in the contest, these are good ‘ens!

    • HoaiPhai

      The tunnel is locally known as “The Screaming Tunnel” and is supposedly haunted by the souls of the workers who died during its construction. From what I understand, high school- and college-aged people use the area as a party staging zone and I cannot blame them for it! I haven’t been back there for a while… I have to go and check for any interesting changes.

  • ceceliafutch

    I loved the photo of your sister-in-law. I also appreciated that you not only showed typical paths we walk or run, but a path of life as well. Very well done.

    • HoaiPhai

      Thank you! I was thinking of showing a couple of physical paths, as I did here, followed by various other figurative paths. But this week has been a real bear and didn’t have the time to plan better so I chose Buddhism as the other path, partly because of The Noble Eightfold Path that is central to their religion. Again, I wanted to post a photo for each path but have been too busy.

  • xeriouslywtf

    The Welland Canal reminds me very much of a scene from that horror movie Let Me In… bad things happen in that tunnel. BTW, your photos are inspired man!

    • HoaiPhai

      The tunnel in the picture was an attempt to allow trains to go under the canal even when ships were going through, but the project was abandoned. Now trains go across a lift bridge. I’m not sure who has the right of way, the trains scheduled to go across the bridge or the ships going through the canal.

      Here’s a video taken taken ten years ago of what happens when bridge operators don’t lift bridges quickly enough. This is about 5 kilometers away from the old tunnel. This bridge is for cars, not trains…

      • xeriouslywtf

        That is completely insane. Wow

      • HoaiPhai

        I cross the next canal bridge to the north (or the next one if it’s up) of this one on my way to work and, of course, once on the way home. I always bring my camera with me but now they control the bridges centrally where it is a little more difficult for the bridge operators to smuggle in a flask!

  • betharr

    My favorite is ‘Ricardo Street in Niagara-on-the-Lake’.
    Autumn is the most beautiful season and the image make me relax.

    ‘Parkway’s footpath in Niagara-on-the-Lake’ is also nice.
    Both remember my day there.

    And the sequence of the buddhist man is awesome. Namastê!

    • HoaiPhai

      Ricaro Street was also the location where I took another of the photos you liked, the one with the star coming from the streetlight in my Nikkor 50mm review but this photo here was taken further south, past Fort George. The Parkway footpath photo was taken just a few minutes walk away but on a different day.

      I thought you’d like the Buddhist monk (in Niagara Falls) when I was putting this together! Path Photography is similar to Street Photography, but much less confrontational. Ate logo e obrigado por ter vistitado!

  • theplaceswevebeen

    Nice photos! I like that someone had the idea to put a running path on the top of that office building.

  • The Good Greatsby

    I wish I could take one of those action photos like the one of your sister-in-law on the bike–my kids would love that.

    • HoaiPhai

      You can! Here’s how I did it…

      I used an auto-focus camera that doesn’t focus on moving subjects or in the dark (a Nikon 5700), manually focussed at a distance where sister-in-law would look good in the photo. Because it was dark and I wanted to get the clouds, I set the camera on a tripod with a honking powerful on-camera flash (a Vivitar 285 HV) set so that at the focussing distance sister-in-law would get slightly more light than was being spewed by the clouds. I had sister-in-law drive up the path and when she hit the preset distance, I took the shot. Then I went home and Photoshopped a bit of a blur around her and the streak behind.

      If that sounds too challenging, here’s an “entry-level” way to do it…

      1. Take a picture of your kids (it’s easiest if it’s one kid per photo), preferably with a dark background where the streaking is supposed to be..
      2. Send them to me and I’ll Photoshop the streak into them.

      If you can possibly manage it, try to convince Optimist Prime and The Fonz that they would look better in the photo if you dressed up your wife’s sister to look like them and use her as a stand-in… she’d probably be a much more compliant model.

      Seriously, send me nice higher-res photos and I’d be happy to retouch them for you.

  • The Hook

    Nice shots of our shared backyard! Good job!

  • jennygoth

    loved these pics especially that dark tunnel and the monks great pics xxjen

    • HoaiPhai

      I had a funny feeling the tunnel might be to your liking! It’s supposedly haunted and would be a great place for trying to invove some supernatural entity. The monk shots were taken in a Buddhist temple in Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada, not somewhere exotic (unless you think Canada is exotic, of course!).

Speak up and be heard!

