Painting with Light on Carlton Street

I was checking out a blog entry by greysqrl called, coincidentally, “Painting with Light” and it reminded me of the fun and feeling of satisfaction one gets from “light painting”.

I took this picture on Carleton Street in western Niagara-on-the-Lake using a multi-million candlepower torch for illumination while the camera, a Nikon CP5700, sat on a tripod.

Very spooky indeed! Click on the image to see it larger... anything out of the ordinary?

This stretch of Carleton Street is just across the Welland Canal from my brother’s place in St. Catharines. Sometimes after a few drinks around the fire we’ll cross the lift bridge and take a walk down this spooky road, looking for something otherworldly.

Unlike most other images I’ve posted on my blog, you can click on this one for a larger version, allowing you to look at it in greater detail. I suggest you do so.

I’d love to hear what you think of this photo!

About HoaiPhai

I'm up late digging up the dirt. View all posts by HoaiPhai

25 responses to “Painting with Light on Carlton Street

  • theplaceswevebeen

    It definitely has an eerie feeling in it.

    • theplaceswevebeen

      You’re right, people should definitely click on this photo. I didn’t even notice it the first time. HA!

      • HoaiPhai

        I told you so! I guess that eerie feeling is partly a subliminal effect because the original image (if you know what I mean) isn’t quite as effective as the reworked image, even if you don’t notice the additional “details” in the reworked one.

  • Mike Lilly

    I did not notice anything unusual at all until I clicked on the larger version, then it was whoa, someone call the Ghost Hunters! Or maybe those Bigfoot hunter guys, not sure.

  • nigel

    a) Thank you for the pingback… 🙂
    b) Love the photo, light painting and painting with light is a lot more fun and I have a few more ideas for you that you may like which I’ll be posting over the next few weeks 😉
    c) That ‘thing’ on the left really is creepy! 🙂

    • HoaiPhai

      Thanks for coming ’round and seeing my light painting. I haven’t done too much of this lately but when my best camera was a 110, I used to put tape over the exposure sensor and use a flash unit with different-coloured pieces of plastic to paint outdoor scenes. I’ve really got to find the time to scan my old slides and negatives.

  • betharr

    the road is illuminated by a ‘high light car’, is not it?
    this caused an atmospheres of dreams.
    then a person comes under the trees.
    the person walks like a drunk, with difficulty, stumbling.
    such a strong light has confused his senses.
    anyway … you shot something weird I agree.

    a great photo! a decisive moment! incredible “light painting”

    • HoaiPhai

      The Lights
      I remember when I was a very small boy at my grandmother’s house there was an ad on TV. I don’t remember what it was about (I was only 4 or 5 years old) but I remember one line that said something about whether reality is really reality or is it a dream and if dreams are reality… or something along those lines. Hearing that caused me to think deeply about the shadowy area between perception, reality, and imagination. We all view the world through the lenses of our eyes and our minds act as filters that change the final image. People often fear something is waiting for them in the dark and their minds project what they fear on an “innocent” scene. I added the alien digitally because the natural scene was so spooky that I almost expected a real one to run out from the trees.

      The photo above shows the lights I used. I cannot remember which one I actually used to make this photo but it was probably the smaller one on the right. The can of Coke is in the shot as an international standard size reference.

    • gojulesgo

      hahaha Exactly. I didn’t notice either until I clicked on it! It gave me chills. I hope that’s what you were going for. 😉 It’s a very cool picture!

      • Emily Gooch

        I noticed the same thing too! The figure reminds me of the aliens from Mel Gibson’s movie “SIGNS”

      • HoaiPhai

        @ Emily Gooch:

        Ka-ching! You got it! I did a screen capture from the DVD and inserted it into the photo. Signs was probably the creepiest, scariest movie I’ve ever seen and I’m never scared by films (except a little by spy and organized crime flicks because that stuff really happens!). According to the newswoman in the movie, the alien video was taken at a child’s birthday party in Passo Fundo, Brazil. I’m surprised Betharr didn’t pick up on it! (she’s Brazillian)

      • HoaiPhai

        @ gojulesgo:

        That’s exactly what I was going for! My brother lives a ten-minute walk from there and holds family parties every once in a while. Sometimes we’ll go for a walk and this place is across the canal in an area with a lot of vinyards. It’s dark and eerie and gets us to talk about UFOs, ghosts, and conspiracy theories while our livers process the evening’s refreshments. I took this photo trying to capture the spookiness but it was missing something, so I added the alien later. I have two versions of this printed out and this is the lighter-toned one. In the darker one, you cannot really see the alien but it creeps people out even more. I guess the alien registers in people’s subconscious. Thanks for dropping by!

    • HoaiPhai

      @ Redneckprincess:

      My entire family is lousy with aliens. I don’t know if they are attracted by the smell of the cinnamon-laced food combined with “rye breath” or if they’ve sized us up as “cheap dates” for their probing activities. Whatever it is, my dream is to one day open an ET petting zoo.

  • Redneckprincess

    Tomorrow, bright and early, I have an award for you 🙂 You can thank me later, hehehehe…check out my site in the AM…thanks for being awesome!!!

    http://theredneckprincess.net

  • jennygoth

    it does look lke an alien from signs very spooky and such a lonely road too but great pic xxjen

    • HoaiPhai

      We have a lot of strange stuff here in Niagara. The War of 1812 left behind a lot of ghosts and it’s also (or at least it used to be) one of North America’s big UFO flap areas. Being partly rural, there are a lot of dark overgown places where the wind howls on stormy nights. You could get a lot of inspiration for your blog from a visit here!

  • ceceliafutch

    Whoah…..awesome, and spooky! 🙂

    • HoaiPhai

      This stretch of raod is really strange…it’s just a few hundred meters from a lock on the Welland canal and when a ship approaches, they have to raise a lift-bridge, sounding a warning siren that suddenly pierces the night. It can really make you jump!

    • HoaiPhai

      That’s what I was shooting for! It was taken on Carlton Street near Lock #2 in NOTL near the garden centre. Do you know where that is? Very eerie place late at night.

  • Badpanda22

    Oh…the pic gave me the willies! hehehe. I didn’t see the creature till I enlarged the image! I have chills now!!!! I love creepy things 🙂

    • HoaiPhai

      I enjoyed every aspect of putting this one together. My brothers and I don’t get together more often than a couple of times a year and that night we were all together and when someone suggested we go on a “UFO walk”, in which we point at any light in the sky and proclaim an invasion. So carted my camera and tripod with me and had a great time with my bros. At home it took a couple of hours to get it to look just right with the alien between the background and covered by the tree branch. I have two copies printed full 8½ x 11 size with one being dark enough that you don’t notice the alien unless you’re really sharp but between the scene printed dark sans alien, dark with the alien, and printed light so the alien is clearly visible, people have told me the one that’s dark with an alien that is present but people don’t see it until I point it out is the creepiest by far.

      Thanks for the visit and comment!

Speak up and be heard!

