Weekly Photo Challenge: Opportunity

A turkey vulture (I think) looking for an opportunity in the misfortune of another. Taken handheld with a Reflex-Nikkor C 500mm f/8 mounted on a D300.

Apologies for a hastily prepared submission to this week’s challenge!

Who wouldn’t like the chance to drive one of these? This FHDR was taken with a Nikkor 50mm f/1.2 AI-S on a D300.
… or drive one of these right into the water and spend a warm summer’s day fishing? Taken with a Sigma 10-20mm F/4~5.6 EX DC HSM mounted on a D300.
The guy or gal driving this car rear-ended a small truck stopped at a red light so I chased it down. The driver bailed just before I arrived but luckily I got this shot of it because the driver returned and drove this car off before the police arrived. He/she had the opportunity to do what was right and stay at the scene but now is facing felony charges for trying to get away. Taken with a AF-S DX VR 18-200mm f/3.5~5.6 G IF-ED on a D300.

Hope you enjoyed my submissions to this week’s challenge of photo “ops”… see you next week!

About HoaiPhai

I'm up late digging up the dirt. View all posts by HoaiPhai

22 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Opportunity

  • theplaceswevebeen

    Great take on the weekly photo challenge. I especially like the last photo and the story that goes with it. I guess you can use this photo again if the weekly challenge is about regret.

    • HoaiPhai

      Thanks for the compliment! When I was living in Montreal, I rarely saw or heard about drunk drivers (which I believe was the case in the last picture) but in Niagara I see cars swerving and going in and out of lanes all the time.

      It’s funny that you mention reusing photos previously posted… I was just wondering about what would happen if I did that. You wouldn’t happen to know if the captions will change on previous posts if we alter it in the library, would you?

  • Hippie Cahier

    The sign in the second picture is perfect. The juxtaposition of the first two is pretty interesting, too. Very nicely done!

    • HoaiPhai

      He-he…the picture with the sign reminds me of an old George Carlin bit about a woman winning a Ferrari on Let’s Make a Deal and she complains “I already have a small car!” That photo was taken in the parking garage at work and there are a couple of spaces adorned with “small car only” signs. Usually you cannot see the sign because there’s a Hummer (original version) or a Chevy Suburban Subdivision parked there!

  • Dave Farmer

    I love the first one. It reminds me of a night a few weeks ago, driving back home when a large owl flashed across the road right in front of my car. All I saw were huge white wings and then it was gone. Out hunting.

    • HoaiPhai

      We have a lot of birds of prey here, including owls but I’ve never ever seen an owl in the wild. I do a lot of driving at night and see a lot of bats and these weird moths that are as big as a robin. I took a great photo of a bunch of gulls I’m just waiting for an excuse to post, too.

  • photos2remember

    Hi, I found your blog really interesting! would you mind to follow my blog as well? This is my school project! Thank you!

  • Northern Narratives

    Wow, a great collection of photos. I would love to drive the red car 🙂

    • HoaiPhai

      I’ve seen some great cars in that garage… Bentleys, Ferraris, an NSX, some great Mercedeses and Beemers… if only I paid attention when I was a teen and learned how to “hot-wire”! Just kidding. Thanks for dropping by!

  • betharr

    I love the third picture. It’s funny and has lots of life.
    the yellow determines the scene.

    • HoaiPhai

      Yeah, I like that one, too. There was a car show on the main downtown street and there were many interesting cars (but no Japanese ones!). I actually posted the wrong version of the yellow car picture… in the other I took some red out of the pavement and punched up the saturation of the blues and, of course, the yellows. Wouldn’t it be great to have a car you could just drive into the water?

  • The Hobbler

    Good job chasing the hit-and-run driver. I can’t believe people sometimes. What ever happened to taking responsibility for your actions?

    • HoaiPhai

      The absolute gall of the guy… his car making horrible sounds as he restarted it and tried to get away. How far did he think he was going to get? He didn’t even check to see if the woman in the car he hit was hurt! Hit-and-run artists and line jumpers (in their various sub-species) really rile me!

  • Ape No. 1

    Love the aquatic car with the smiley face. Great picture. I can imagine taking this spunky little talking crime solving car on some awesome adventures at sea.

    • HoaiPhai

      You noticed the fish-like smily face on the amphibious car, eh? That’s why I added the frowny face to the hit-and-runner. I don’t know about taking that car out to sea… even the Great Lakes get a might choppy sometimes. Gordon Lightfoot even wrote a song about a guy who sank his amphibious car on Lake Superior called “The Wreck of the Edsel Fitzgerald”.

  • Mike Lilly

    Nice series of photos, and great job fighting crime! Do you have a cape?

  • The Hook

    For a last-minute post, you did all right, my friend!

  • Martina

    Love the red car!!!!

Speak up and be heard!

