Weekly Photo Challenge: Wonder

The wonder of the beauty of a flowers intricate structure and colour.

“Wonder” can mean to ponder, or that which is pondered. Scientists, artists, philosophers, and craftsmen all wonder about truths and ways to realize dreams.

The wonderment of a child watching fireworks on a warm summer's evening.

Poets engage in wondering as a matter of course. Any of you familiar with this blog have probably pegged me as a “Beans, beans are good for your heart” kind of guy when it comes to the type of poetry I would be likely to fully appreciate, and rightly so. I generally find poetry, unless set to music, tedious and contrived.

The major exception to this rule is the poem “To See” by William Blake that deals directly with wonder as its subject.

To see a world in a grain of sand,
And a heaven in a wild flower,
Hold infinity in the palm of your hand
And eternity in an hour.

Beautiful, huh?

It’s natural for us to wonder, whether we ponder the afterlife, the meaning of life, the beauty of nature, or the nature of beauty.

Wonders are all around us — the way a dancer extracts such grace from basically the same human form that a football player uses to plow through the opposing defense, the eerie beauty of the aurora, the sound of the tiny wings of a hummingbird, the sigh of someone you love.

The wonder of nature's miniature world.

Wondering has been a preocupation since the Dawn of Man.

I wonder how this gal managed to make it through Thanksgiving weekend. Surely "Black Friday" was coined by a turkey!

These guys never seem to wonder where their next meal is coming from until they get hungry, and then they usually know where to find it.

You may be wondering what this is... any guesses?

Hope you enjoyed my gallery of “wonder” photos.

See you next week!

About HoaiPhai

I'm up late digging up the dirt. View all posts by HoaiPhai

14 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Wonder

  • Carl D'Agostino

    Racoons are pretty crafty sly fellows

  • Northern Narratives

    Wonderful post. I have no idea about the last photo.

  • ceceliafutch

    A beautiful post. This was a great photo challenge, and it triggered a lot of thought. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. As to the last photo, I don’t know. Could be someone dancing around with a lot of lights. LOL! my best guess!

    • HoaiPhai

      I’m glad you got out of the post what I intended!

      The answer to the mystery of the last photo is that the picture was taken in error. I was holding my camera up to meter for a possible shot of the Namsan Tower in Seoul and instead of pressing the shutter release button halfway, I pressed it too far and took the picture without having adjusted the settings. The previous picture was intentionally a 30 second exposure so when the shutter opened I could hear that it hadn’t closed so I put the lens cap on and waited the 30 seconds, set the camera to take the picture in this reply, and then took the picture. Frankly, I like the mistake much better… it’s much more wonderful in my opinion.

      The intended look of the mystery image.

  • betharr

    well, I liked the child marveled at something in the sky, and especially liked the Blake’s poem. love his words and paintings.
    deeply grateful for the comments, WF.

    • HoaiPhai

      You’re welcome for the comments to your exquisite photos! I’ve been trying to catch up on my comments after having so little opportunity to blog lately. The little girl is my niece and she’s looking at fireworks (fogos de artifício). The image was taken late at night and lit only by streetlights and the fireworks. I have loved that poem for years and would like to have it as my epitaph but my name is already on a family tombstone with no space for it.

  • The Hook

    Excellent way to build up a photo post!

Speak up and be heard!

