Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter

Some "the-cup-is-half-full types" go ice fishing in the winter — I've never been one of those guys. I don't even want to go out and take photos of them any more!

Winter. Here we go again!

Very mild, but winter just the same.

Before we go any further, The Canadian Riviera (i.e. Niagara) has had a really, really mild so far this winter even though it is Canada’s Deep South (bear in mind that I live about an hour’s drive north of Buffalo, NY… a place with a reputation for bad winters). The photo immediately above shows the worst snowfall we’ve had here this season. All other photos on this page were taken in previous years.

These kids have grown since this photo was taken a few years ago.

Well, living here in the Bacon Belt (the U.S. has the Bible Belt where it tends to be warm and steamy but here in Canada the equivalent warm weather zone is called The Bacon Belt because for most of the year a pack of bacon will thaw if left outdoors for 24 hours) has been a real treat this year in that I haven’t had to figure out where Mrs. HoaiPhai hid the shovel last spring.

Yoko hasn't been covered with a snowy blanket so far this season.

Even so, my Climate Deficiency Syndrome, or whatever that disease where you get all mopey and unproductive because there is less sunlight during the winter is called) has kicked in. It’s no easy diagnosis in my case as I have never been particularly productive, but I am significantly mopier.

Evidence of birds and mice square-dancing.

Only Vancouver, BC (which stands for “better climate”) has a better climate, as far as Canadian cities go, and I’d love to vacation there sometime.

The snow doesn't usually go away overnight when it is here. The snow is textured with the tracks of the Boreal Tree Bunny (you might know them as squirrels).

I feel kind of gypped because I’ve been running on my expensive snow tires since November. If only I had the bravado to wait for the first snowfall to do the changeover!

I don’t know what made these tracks and frankly I don’t care. I want spring now!
There isn’t any snow on the ground and I’m planning to BBQ on my days off.

The squirrels are still roaming around, all baggy-eyed because they haven’t slipped into a nice restful state of hibernation yet.

It's not like this yet... the lawn is still green!

Still, until they come up with a camera with heated controls, I’ll probably be doing a lot of interior shooting for the next few months.

Time to got... I better make tracks!

I hope the Photo Challenge topic guys come up with topics having to do with hot food and gaining weight for the next while!

About HoaiPhai

I'm up late digging up the dirt. View all posts by HoaiPhai

16 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter

  • KatiesCameraBlog

    Ah, but Canadians do these winter challenges better than anyone. 🙂 Love these photos. nice to see so much snow. 🙂

    • HoaiPhai

      Glad you like the photos! I don’t know if you’ve spent much time hob-nobbing with canadians but another winter pastime we excel at is complaining about the weather. Lots of snow is very nice (and I say this in spite of me not getting “snow days” off from work) but I’m at the point where I consider it a nice thing to come for a visit, but I wouldn’t want it to stay too long! Our winters make spring and summer that much sweeter, too.

  • jakesprinter

    Great Entry for the challenge 🙂

  • Stepping My Way to Bliss

    It is a freaky winter, isn’t it? I feel like I need to brace for getting blasted in February or March to make up for the lack. Love the pictures, as always. ~~Bliss

    • HoaiPhai

      It certainly is weird, it’s like someone came in and flipped a few calendar pages while we were sleeping… it seems more like November. I didn’t want to mention what you wrote about Mother Nature intending to make up for lost time but I’m kind of worried about that happening, too!

  • Northern Narratives

    Here in Minnesota, we are also wondering why we have no snow. And we are also worried that the biggest blizzard of all time will hit us in April or May 🙂

    • HoaiPhai

      Canada did pretty well during the recent recession but Prime Minister Harper is screwing with the economy by denying Americans our largest export, Arctic Cold Snaps. Like all cross-border trade, winter weather is best supplied in a constant trickle and not in one large shipment.

  • Hippie Cahier

    They’re all great, but that first one is spectacularly spectacular.

    You know what the second one needs? Crop circles.

    I’ve never heard of the Bacon Belt. That’s funny!

    • HoaiPhai

      Thanks! The first one was taken on an uncharacteristically productive day, photographically speaking, and it was then that I also took the picture for the Weekly Photo Challenge: Colorful edition. The guy in the first picture was a stranger who actually cooperated when he saw me trying to sneak pictures of him (the one here was a natural unposed candid). I am kind of uncomfortable sticking my lens in people’s faces but every once in a while a model presents him/herself that enjoys being photographed so I can take pictures without feeling like I’m trespassing on their personal space.

      As for the second one, you’ve found me out… that’s another picture of my backyard. In fact, all the photos on the page, except the first and last ones, were taken from my property. I’m a dietary ecologist (I resist burning calories lest it contributes to global warming) so I have a lot of pictures taken close to home, especially the cold or otherwise bad weather ones.

      So, you like “Bacon Belt”, eh? I just made that up. If you look at a map of Canada, all the major cities are on a west-to-east line within an hour’s drive from our border with the U.S. It was planned that way during the War of 1812 so that when the Americans raided, they’d get confused by the French signs and if they took the wrong road and missed the city, there would be nothing until the Arctic Circle, and then they would be some sign rubbing in the fact that GPSs had not yet been invented. Canada managed a tie in The War of 1812 but I doubt that we could do that again now that iPhones have apps to help people find our cities in spite of French signs and white-outs.

  • Ape No. 1

    Brrr. I can feel the cold from here. That pic through your door is great. I wish I could wield a lens as well as you can.

    • HoaiPhai

      I bet you can! It’s -9° C / 16° F as I write this and is supposed to go down to -12° C / 10° F in the morning. The picture through the door was taken with a very inexpensive but quite capable fisheye lens. Unfortunately, I haven’t used it a whole lot but will be doing a Recumbent Review on it at some point. I’m an optical scavanger with loads of images that nobody would be interested in seeing… my real talent is in selecting the passable pictures for public consumption.

  • Update to Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter « HoaiPhai

    […] Sorry, Gang. It looks like I spoke too soon and jinxed the mild precipitation-free weather we have been having. The photo above was taken about a day after posting my previous post. […]

  • elmediat

    Well done ! My Dad always called it the banana belt. The first peach plantations were planted in Grimsby by Empire loyalists. The winters have become more unpredictable – real winter weather only hit our area in the last couple of days.

    • HoaiPhai

      Same thing here in Niagara but we got a minor taste compared to you guys further north. My son came down from Montreal for Christmas and he couldn’t believe how mild it was. I spent most of my life in the City of Montreal so the relative rural nature of Niagara and all the fruit trees are still quite novel to me.

  • Winter’s Cold Comfort « Dark Pines Photo

    […] posts  -Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter   & Update to Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter Share […]

Speak up and be heard!

