Update to Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter

This is what happens when you tempt fate.

Sorry, Gang. It looks like I spoke too soon and jinxed the mild precipitation-free weather we have been having. The photo above was taken about a day after posting my previous post.

Well, at least the snow people are happy.

Try to make the most of what’s left of the winter!

About HoaiPhai

I'm up late digging up the dirt. View all posts by HoaiPhai

11 responses to “Update to Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter

  • betharr

    hi you! love the fisrt one.

    • HoaiPhai

      We haven’t had much cold weather or snow which stayed on the ground so I thought that this minor bit of weather was worth documenting. The lens is a remarkably inexpensive Samyang 8.5mm stereographic projection fish-eye. I haven’t used it very much but once I have a bunch of different shots taken with it I’ll write a review.

  • Dave Farmer

    Yay! Happy snow people! Love their arms raised in a frosty cheer!

    • HoaiPhai

      Hope you won’t think I’m less than honest in my posts but actually the snow people shot was taken a few years ago. When I saw the happy snow people, I imagined that the mood of their creators was jubilant while building them. It’s kind of rare to see snowmen that are anything more than just blobs with carrot noses, isn’t it?

  • elmediat

    You got our hit from a couple of days ago. Enjoy ! Really like that first shot.

    • HoaiPhai

      Thanks! I wanted to make it look a lot like the shot I took a few days earlier so I used the same fish-eye but I stepped a bit to the side to make it less symmetrical than the original fair-weather shot… what a difference a few inches make when using a fish-eye!

  • Winter’s Cold Comfort « Dark Pines Photo

    […] posts  -Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter   & Update to Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter Share this:ShareStumbleUponRedditEmailTwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  • jennygoth

    hi snow forecast here this week hope your well xxjen

    • HoaiPhai

      We really have been spoiled this winter. The snow in that first picture was the biggest snowfall we’ve had this season but there’s 5cm forecast for the morning… I hope I remember how to drive on the stuff!

  • ceceliafutch

    I love the first photo. Very artistic. Stay warm!

    • HoaiPhai

      Glad you liked it! That is the view from my back door and it’s one of those magical places where visuals just seem to come together. The view is not very picturesque and nothing terribly exciting ever happens within eye-shot, but for some reason its view is quite compelling. When I began planning the first Recumbent Review I wanted to use only photos taken through that door or from the slab of concrete on which the picnic table rests but I found that it was too limiting. Of all the images on the Recumbent Reviews (including graphs and “product shots”) posted so far, fully 44% were taken from within 5 feet of that doorway. It’s wonderful to just sit at the tables just inside or outside that doorway and watch what little happens there.

Speak up and be heard!

