Weekly Photo Challenge: Peaceful

What better symbol of peace than a dove?

Peacefulness. Yoga people can invoke it at will, but I kind of enjoy the surprise of a natural-onset state of peace.

A baby mourning dove collecting his strength after his first solo flight.

The older I get and the more routine life becomes, the more generally peaceful my experience becomes.

The gentle lapping sound of Lake Ontario is certainly peaceful.

I’ve found that in spite of a general lack of excitement and conflict in my life, I still seek out more and more peaceful surroundings.

A Canada goose enjoying a summer's day.

When I was younger, the contrast between the overall manic pace and the rare peaceful times was profound so peacefulness seemed almost shocking in its intensity.

A fawn disturbing a flower garden's peace or contributing to it?

Peace has become an old friend that drops by quite regularly, whereas Calm is a member of the household.

Sitting on this bench in Grimsby always makes me feel peaceful. Sitting on a park bench in Toronto (in the distance)... not so much.

Sometimes I question whether my quest for total peace is genuine — I spend a lot of time looking for “friction”. My next post will be an epic rant about an annoyance that is so easy to avoid and ignore. But still, I occasionally dwell on such irritations. I’ve come to the realization that when I do, I do so to arrive at a resolution to conflict I’ve imposed upon myself. Perhaps I’m adding a little agitation to make the upcoming peace that much sweeter.

The calm before the storm.

And sweet it is, until another storm comes to put the peace that will inevitably follow into perspective.

About HoaiPhai

I'm up late digging up the dirt. View all posts by HoaiPhai

13 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Peaceful

  • Carl D'Agostino

    You are fortunate to have reached this degree of serenity. I am retired and lead a fairly reclusive life but things still pop up that infuriate me and keep me “astir”. This blog stuff helps to keep me from dwelling on such things so perhaps blogging is my yoga. My western mind is not capable of invoking it at will as you present.Perhaps the turmoil keeps the creativity pumped as I put up my 400th post today in 18 months. I think in my path at least ,action must be taken to face and resolve the issue and not seek peace in spite of the discord’s remaining presence.

    • HoaiPhai

      I’ve always been a peaceful guy. Maybe I’m just too lazy to engage in a lot of conflict but being of Mediterranean ancestry, I enjoy the challenge of a heated debate. My wife and I know each other’s sensitivities and (generally) try to avoid pushing each other’s buttons. But every once in a while something comes up and stirs the pot a bit and you get a nice lengthy rant to read.

  • Stepping My Way to Bliss

    Isn’t aging wonderful? Getting older and more routine definitely has its pluses. I love peace and serenity. And it’s not to mistaken for boredom. How can viewing any of what the above photos capture be boring? I feel better physically and emotionally now than I ever did in my 20s and 30s because I have learned the value of slowing down, eliminating toxic people (no, I didn’t kill them off–that sounded ominous) and enjoying the simple things life has to offer. My daughter is coming home next month for who knows how long. As much as we love her, we are not looking forward to it because we are convinced drama and trauma makes her world go round and we are pretty much done with that. Thanks for sharing the photos and thoughts. ~~Bliss

    • HoaiPhai

      Actually, aging turned not being the dirty word I thought it was decades ago. The aches I feel from decades of “erosion” are much easier to tolerate than the physical and emotional injuries of a faster-paced youth, and much less distracting. I cannot think of a single toxic person that I still have contact with save for the ones thrust upon me at work, for example. The funny thing is is that the toxic ones moved on to greener pastures before I made any effort to rid myself of them. The world’s a wonderful place and it’s just not worth the time to seek out discord. Hope things go well with your daughter!

  • Beth Arr

    as beautiful as a ‘Summertime’ – song that IM listen to just now

    • HoaiPhai

      Thank you very much!! Was the song Summertime the one sung by Janis Joplin by chance? I love that song… I used to hear it on the radio during the summer and it always makes me feel warm and relaxed.

  • Hippie Cahier

    These were perfect to look at just before I head out into DC traffic to go home. I should try to look at them again when I get there. Peace out. . .

  • Redneckprincess

    Lovely…how have you been my friend?

    • HoaiPhai

      Glad you liked the photos! I’ve been OK but today was the first day I’ve had to myself in a long while (and I just go a called out of the house so I have only 30 minutes of my “freedom day” left).

Speak up and be heard!

